About Us

Hi, I’m Bri!

Welcome to From the Hart Farm, a place where I share our homesteading journey. I’m taking you along with me as I try homemade recipes, learn more old fashioned skills, and, of course, grow humans and animals.

The Hearts Behind From the Hart Farm

My husband Colin and I were married in October 2019. We jumped into a first year of marriage that brought a pandemic and two miscarriages. Talk about a rough start! Since then we moved to a new property and are slowly adding new faces as we get settled in.

The “Farm”

Homestead, farm, and property…we purchased our little corner of the world in 2021. Our 1600 square foot home sits on 5 partially wooded acres. We knew that it was going to take some sweat equity but we were ready to put in the work. We are crossing of one project just to start another one! We’re big DIY’ers so our projects tend to take a little longer but the effort always pays off. Our home came complete with two large barns. One is going to hold our larger animals and one is going to store all of our equipment. We love where we live and are constantly discovering more about this property and how to be the best steward for it.

About Me

I was born and raised right here in West Michigan about 10 minutes from where we live now. My dad worked out of our home so I spent a lot of time in his shop or outside getting dirt under my fingernails.

I stumbled into homesteading in 2020 by complete accident. One of the first things they tell you when you have fertility issues is to start eliminating toxins from your life. I was tying to figure out how to remove more toxins from our home when I found all of these people on instagram that were cooking from scratch and growing their own food. I immediately knew I belonged in this community!

I’ve never felt like I “fit” into the rest of society because I always desired a little slower pace lifestyle. Less takeout, less traffic, less technology. Don’t get me wrong, I love having the world at my fingertips sometimes but I get much more pleasure by digging in the dirt, preserving my harvest, and making a meal out of whole foods.

I still work a full-time job in the food service industry. My husband also works full time as a mechanic. At this time our budget requires us both to work outside of the home but we have hopes of shedding our debt to get at least one of us out of the rat race soon.

The Harts. Colin, Bri, Harley, and Joanna.

A Few Fun Facts About Me

I’ve played softball since I was around 8 years old and I still play on a slow pitch summer league.

My mom and I went to college together! I was going for my bachelors and she was going for her associates. We would grab dinner on Monday nights before we went to class.

I purchased my first home by myself at age 22. I was working full time second shift and going to college full time for my bachelors degree in business. All of my hard work paid off and one of the first things I did after signing those papers was buy a flock of laying hens.

I love hunting and I’ve spent a lot of time in the woods but I’ve never actually harvested any animals yet.

Thank you so much joining us at From the Hart Farm!

You can also follow our journey on Instagram!